Arlington – Retired Police Lieutenant, Kenneth Hughes* and retired Fire Chief Robert Jefferson were both reelected to the Arlington Retirement Board without opposition. Ken was elected to his sixth term and Robert was elected to his third term on the Board. The other Board members unanimously declaring the election were Richard Keshian Esq., Ida Cody, and Alfred Fantini, who also serves on the Cambridge School Committee. The retirement administrator is Rich Greco.

Belmont – The Belmont Board of Selectmen replaced Treasurer Floyd Carman as their representative on the Belmont Retirement Board. with North Colony Assets Management investment professional Brian Antonellis. The other members on the Board include, Donna Tuccinardi, Firefighter Ross Vona, retired Firefighter, Walter Wellman and Tom Gibson, Esq*., who also serves as the Chairman of the Middlesex Retirement Board. The recently appointed executive director is Ryan Horan, who served as a senior staffer on the State Retirement Board and was the assistant director at the Belmont Board prior to his appointment.

Bristol County – The Bristol County Retirement Board had only on candidate nominated for the second elected member. Incumbent Stephen J. Rivard was declared re-elected by the Board as he was the only candidate returning nomination papers certified by the Bristol County Advisory Committee. Stephen also serves as the Mass Retirees Southeastern District Vice President. The other Board members declaring the election were, County Treasurer, Christopher Saunders*, County Commissioner John Saunders, retired Easton Fire Captain William Downey and Seekonk Treasurer Christine DeFontes. The Board’s executive director is Roxanne Donavan.

Lynn – After the sudden death of elected Board member, retired Firefighter Buzzy Barton, who was also the Association’s Northern District Vice President, the Lynn Retirement Board held a special election to fill the vacancy of the longtime member. The election drew a strong field of five retirees. The candidates and results were: retired Firefighter Bob “Moona” Mullins, with 28 years as a firefighter, Local 739 secretary/treasurer, a close colleague and friend of Buzzy Barton, topped the ticket with 487 votes; Ed “Ned” Shinnick, 35 years with the Police Department and officer in the Lynn Police Association, received 270 votes; Harold Samuelson, retired superintendent of the Lynn Water and Sewer Commission and union president, got 108 votes; Stephen Tansey, retired custodian in City Inspectional Services and AFSCME local treasurer, 96 votes, and James Randazza, retired from Inspectional Services, 29 votes. The other members on the Board include retired Firefighter Richard Biagiotti, CFA, Michael Marks, Esq.*, Comptroller Stephen Spencer and Mass Retirees President Frank Valeri. The executive director of the Board is Gary Brenner.

Marblehead – The Marblehead Retirement Board declared Firefighter Douglas Knowles to be elected as he was the only candidate nominated for the election. He replaced Paul Jalbert who chose not to run for re-election. The other Board members declaring his election were Robert Peck*Jr., Esq., Charles Gessner, Fire Chief Jason Gilliland, and Aleesha Nunley-Benjamin. The Marblehead retirement administrator is Linda Gifford.

Northbridge – The Northbridge Retirement Board reappointed Tom Frieswyk, retired member of the US Forest Service, to his fourth term as their fifth member. The Board members making the appointment were, Town Accountant Sharon Emerick, Assistant to Town Manager Sharon Susienka, retired School Director of Operations George Murray and retired Police Officer John Meagher*. The Board’s administrator is Scott McGrath.

Norwood – The Norwood Retirement Board declared retired Police Officer Thomas O’Toole re-elected to his seventh term on the Board, as he was the only candidate nominated. The Board members making the election declaration were Ted Mulvehill*, Eileen Hickey and Thomas Rorrie. The Board’s executive director is Debra Wilkes.

Saugus – The Saugus Retirement Board declared Fire Lieutenant Mark Gannon re-elected for his fifth term on the Board. Mr. Gannon, a lifetime resident and 25 year firefighter of Saugus, also serves as the secretary to Local 1003 Firefighters Union. Members declaring the election were Donna Matarazzo, Eugene Decareau, Doreen DiBari and Fire Lieutenant Bill Cross, III,*. The Saugus Board administrator is Ann Quinlan.

Taunton – The only candidate to file nomination papers for the Taunton Retirement Board election was retired Police Officer Dennis Smith*. It will be Dennis’ fourth term on the Board. The Board members declaring the election were Ian Fortes, Gill Enos, retired Fire Lieutenant Thomas Bernier and Barry Amaral from the Bristol County Registry of Deeds. The Board’s executive director is Paul Silivinski.
*Denotes Chair

Comments are disabled.